To honor God in my writings

thI attended the wedding of a friend this morning. It was a heart warming processional by the bride while marching to the music of “The Prayer”. With the thought of their love story in mind, culminating in this union of hearts and lives. The heart’s desire to enter marriage with the one you love. What a JOY!

I am reminded of the romantic love that i started with Maggie. We have been married for 10years. It seems that the romantic sweet love is being replaced by the realities of life – the chores, the duties, the responsibilities of the family. Adding to the fire are misunderstanding, unmet needs, disrespecting one another. (Don’t get me wrong, Maggie is a wonderful wife though, almost perfect. She is God’s blessing to me.) Our love for each other day before, the “kilig” moments that sweethearts feel isn’t there anymore and it seems cheesy when you watch younger people having. I even think to myself – wait till your marriage, you’ll see.

And so God reminds me again, as a leader of the family to love first. I need to anchor my relationship on God, draw strength from Him so that i may overflow with His love. And as i spent time with God in prayer, crying out to Him with my pain, my needs. His presence filled me with His peace, His joy, His love, His forgiveness. I confess my shortcomings to Him for my wife and children, asking Him to bless us as we start anew. As i commit to God again, to love my wife, be gentle and patient with her And the kids with my words and actions, not to be hot tempered. Restoring our love into the sweet stage is not optional. It is a MUST and it is God’s will for all of our families so that we can be use for His glory and honor. With God all things are possible!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

